Home  |   About us  |   Partner with AWC  |   Login      

Legislative Advocacy

City Champion Awards

AWC’s City Champion award acknowledges the hard work and dedication of legislators who championed critical city issues.

2016 City Champions

Rep. Joan McBride (D-Kirkland) and Rep. Terry Nealey (R-Dayton) are recognized for their work on the Local Government Champions Caucus and efforts to strengthen the Public Records Act.

Rep. Drew Hansen (D-Bainbridge Island) and Rep. Drew Stokesbary (R-Auburn) are recognized for their work on police body-worn camera legislation.

Sen. Mike Padden (R-Spokane Valley) is recognized for his work on police body-worn camera and nuisance abatement legislation.

Sen. Annette Cleveland (D-Vancouver) is recognized for her advocacy and leadership on housing and homelessness issues.

2016 Special Recognition City Champions

Governor Jay Inslee is recognized for his support in providing critical infrastructure funding for local governments, as evidenced by his veto to stop diverting funds from the Public Works Trust Fund.

Seven legislators are recognized for promoting and participating in the House Local Government Champions Caucus – Rep. Tana Senn (D-Mercer Island – second year winner), Rep. Terry Nealey (R-Dayton – second year winner), Rep. Joan McBride (D-Kirkland), Rep. Dick Muri (R-Lakewood), Rep. Sherry Appleton (D-Poulsbo), Rep. Steve Kirby (D-Tacoma), and Rep. Mia Gregerson (D-SeaTac).

Finally, two legislators are being recognized for their legislative career of service to cities – retiring Sen. Karen Fraser (D-Olympia) and retiring Sen. Linda Evans Parlette (R-Chelan).

2015 City Champions

Rep. Chris Reykdal (D-Tumwater) is recognized for his efforts to organize and lead a bi-partisan caucus of House members who rallied to promote the interests and needs of cities and towns across the state with their legislative colleagues and leadership.

Rep. Terry Nealey (R-Dayton) is recognized for his work to craft solutions to problems and costs associated with abusive and costly public records requests, while maintaining public access to information.

Rep. Tana Senn (D-Mercer Island) is recognized for her consistent advocacy for interests of cities and her effective way of helping her colleagues understand and appreciate the impacts of legislation on cities.

Sen. Ann Rivers (R-La Center) is receiving her second consecutive award for her outstanding advocacy and support for the interests of cities in establishing a more sensible regulatory framework within which to provide legal marijuana to patients and recreational users, as well as making sure tax revenues were shared with municipalities to protect public safety.

Sen. Mark Mullet (D-Issaquah) is receiving his second consecutive award for his consistent and effective advocacy for maintaining critical funding support for cities, including but not limited to, helping secure previously reduced liquor tax revenues to support local public safety and reminding colleagues of the critical importance of helping fund local infrastructure.

2015 City Champion All-Star

Rep. Larry Springer (D-Kirkland) is recognized as a longstanding and proven local government champion who has been in the forefront of advancing issues critical to helping cities prosper and meet the needs of their citizens and businesses. He has consistently sponsored bills to help cities, speaks out on behalf of cities both in public settings and also behind the scenes, and is always available to confer with city representatives and provide them with straight talk – whether they want to hear it or not.

2015 Transportation Champions

House and Senate Transportation Committee Chairs, Rep. Judy Clibborn (D-Mercer Island), Sen. Curtis King (R-Yakima) and Governor Jay Inslee are recognized for their outstanding leadership in crafting and ensuring passage of a bi-partisan supported historic package.

Transportation Committee Vice-Chairs or ranking minority party members are also recognized for their critical assistance and support. These recipients include Rep. Jake Fey (D-Tacoma), Sen. Joe Fain (R-Auburn), Rep. Ed Orcutt (R-Kalama), Sen. Steve Hobbs (D-Lake Stevens), Rep. J.T. Wilcox (R-Yelm) and Sen. Marko Liias (D-Lynnwood).

2014 City Champions

Rep. Cary Condotta (R-East Wenatchee) earned this award because of his strong support for cities, including being the prime sponsor of AWC priority legislation to share the revenue resulting from recreational marijuana sales with cities.

Sen. Mark Mullet (D-Issaquah) earned this award because he was a primary defender of cities, including signing on to multiple pieces of priority legislation and advocating for cities within the Senate.

Sen. Ann Rivers (R-La Center) is recognized for going above and beyond in her support of cities, including being the prime sponsor of two pieces of priority legislation. One bill restored resources to the public works assistance account, the other reconciled the medical and recreational marijuana markets and shared new revenues with cities.

Rep. Derek Stanford (D-Bothell) received this award because he demonstrated incredible support for cities and towns, including being the prime sponsor of AWC priority legislation to restore resources to the public works assistance account.

Rep. Steve Tharinger (D-Sequim) received this award because he was a leading proponent for cities including being the prime sponsor of the AWC priority legislation to restore the growth in liquor profits that were redirected from cities to the state in order to deal with state budget shortfalls.